Cricket Today

Life Between wickets

Indian Squad for WTC Finals and Five Test Match Series Against England Announced by BCCI

2 min read

The most awaited Indian squad for the World Test Championship finale against the Kiwis has been announced by the BCCI. Also, this team will be playing against England in the five-match Test series. Most of the players who were in the Australian tour have made it to the list. Exhibiting an excellent performance in his debut series against England, Axar Patel has been retained in the squad for his second one.

There are a total of six pacers in the team that includes Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, and Shardul Thakur. Since T Natarajan was injured recently and was ruled out IPL 2021, he wasn’t added to the list. Two important cricketers, Ravindra Jadeja and Hanuma Vihari who missed the England series have been added to the team.

However, KL Rahul and Wriddhiman Saha will be in the squad only if they have cleared the fitness test. KL Rahul recently had undergone an acute appendicitis surgery and Saha has been tested positive for Covid-19 this week. Hence it is necessary for both the players to take the test.

Four Standby Players Announced by BCCI

To withstand any injuries during the play, four standby players have been selected by the committee. After proving their worth during the domestic circuit, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla are the players who finally made it to the list. Avesh shined during the IPL 2021 who contributed much for the Delhi Capitals.

Details about the departure of Team India to the United Kingdom are yet to be decided. Few formalities are pending after which the list of finalized players will be traveling to the UK. The team will be visiting Southampton first as they will be playing the WTC finale from June 18th to June 22nd. Once the five day Test series against England starts on August 4th, the tour is expected to be concluded by September 14th.

Finalized Indian Squad for WTC Finals and Five-Test Series Against England

Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (Vice Captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (Wicket keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, RavindraJadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul (subjected to fitness test), Wriddhiman Saha (subjected to fitness test; wicket keeper)

Standby Players: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan,and Arzan Nagwaswalla.

Team India’s Schedule of England Tour 2021-22

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *