Cricket Today

Life Between wickets

BCCI Introduced New Fitness Test for Team India; Team Announced for the Upcoming England Test Series

2 min read

Over the last few years, cricket has evolved according to the modern demands. Maybe, the BCCI also had the same thought before their selection of the new squad for the next test series. After the famous victory by Team India against Australia, lots of fans are awaiting for the next one.

One such amendment by the BCCI is that the players must undergo a meticulous fitness test before they step into the national team. Earlier, Yo-Yo selection was made mandatory by the BCCI.

Apart from batting and bowling, fielding has grown out to be the most essential factor for a team’s victory. The fate of the game lies on the fielding nowadays. In India, Manish Pandey and Ravindra Jadeja are considered as the best fielders.

Recently, on the tour to Australia, Jadeja fielded extraordinarily well and won many matches due to his fielding. The key strength of the players must be fitness and agility. That’s why BCCI decided to initiate this fitness test.

The Indian board of cricket has initiated an endurance test plan for the players. These rules differ for pacers and other players. Fast bowlers are expected to complete 2Km in 8 minutes 15 seconds. However, spinners, batsmen, and wicket-keepers must complete the run in 8 minutes 30 seconds.

This new policy will be applicable from the upcoming test series against England. However, the players who were part of the Indian squad against Australia are relieved from this process and other players must go through these tests.

Main Players Unavailable Due to Injuries

It was a drastic moment for team India in the Australian tour when most of the players were injured. In fact, the team had to manage without their key players last test series. Jasprit Bumrah, Muhammad Shami, Hanuma Vihari, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin were injured in that series. Throwing away these obstacles, the men in blue came out with flying colors and won the Border – Gavaskar Trophy.

These players who are injured will miss the upcoming fixtures also. Ravindra Jadeja, a key player, will not be playing the test series against England. Due to these unpredictable situations, the BCCI started concentrating on players’ fitness.

Indian Squad Announced by BCCI

·      Opening Batsmen: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal.

·      Middle-Order Batsmen: Virat Kohli (Captain), Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinjya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Wriddhiman Saha, Hardik Pandya, KL Rahul

·      Fast Bowlers: Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur.

·      Spinners: R Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel.

·      Net Bowlers: Ankit Rajpoot, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Warrier, K Gowtham, Saurabh Kumar.

·      Standbys: KS Bharat (wicketkeeper), Abhimanyu  Easwaran, Shahbaz Nadeem, Rahul Chahar, Priyank Panchal.